Login to
My Festival Planner
Note: this is not your online booking login

Perth International Arts Festival Board

Festival Board
Mr Michael Smith: Chair
Ms Suzanne Ardagh
Mr Alan R. Dodge AM
Mr David Griffiths
Prof Alan Robson AM (Vice Chancellor, UWA)
Prof Margaret Seares AO
Mr Ryan Stokes
Mr Gene Tilbrook

Board Invitees
Dr Michael Chaney AO (Chancellor, UWA)
Mr Julian Donaldson (General Manager, Perth International Arts Festival)
Ms Shelagh Magadza (Artistic Director, Perth International Arts Festival)
Ms Gaye McMath (Executive Director Finance & Resources, UWA)
Ms Jan Stewart (CEO, Lotterywest)
Lisa Scaffidi The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor

Mr Michael Smith: Chair
Mr Smith is the Managing Director of Black House; a firm specialised in strategy.

Other board positions include Chairman of Synergy and iiNet, and non executive director of Automotive Holdings Group and 7-Eleven Stores Pty Ltd; a chain of 390 convenience stores on Australia's east coast.

Mr Smith is Vice President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in Western Australia, a Chartered Management Consultant, and a Fellow of the Australian Marketing Institute, the Institute of Management Consultants, and of the Australian Institute of Management.

Mr Smith is also a recipient of the patrons medal (HRH Prince Phillip) for services to marketing.

Ms Suzanne Ardagh
Suzanne Ardagh is the WA State Manager of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD), responsible for AICD's program of professional development, events and member services for Directors in WA.

She has 20 years experience gained in the fields of diplomacy, corporate affairs, education, marketing and communications. From 2001-2006 she was Marketing and Communications Director for RMIT International University Vietnam, stationed in Ho Chi Minh City achieving significant growth in student recruitment and brand development.

Prior to this role, she worked in the Corporate Head Office of Wesfarmers Limited from 1992 to 2001.

Ms Ardagh commenced her career with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade completing postings at the Australian Embassies in Vienna and Mexico City with short-term missions to Havana, Cuba and Budapest, Hungary.

Ms Ardagh is a graduate from UWA (Arts) and has an MBA from RMIT University and is on the Board of Musica Viva Australia and IASKA.

Mr Alan R. Dodge AM
Mr Dodge, an art advisor, is the former Director of the Art Gallery of Western Australia, a position he held for 11 years.

Mr Dodge has 35 years experience in the visual arts, having worked as everything from a teacher of art history to a curator of European and American art.
Mr Dodge is currently on the Board of the National Portrait Gallery, on the Board of the Institute of Advanced Studies and member, Steering Committee for the Arts Precinct, University of Western Australia, Chairman of the Board of the Murdoch University Art Collection and the John Curtin Gallery at the Curtin University of Technology. He is Adjunct Professor in the School of Art at Curtin University of Technology, a Fellow of Edith Cowan University and a Chevalier in the Order of Arts and Letters, appointed by the French government.

Mr David Griffiths
Mr Griffiths is a Company Director with extensive experience in corporate strategy and finance. He is the Non-Executive Chairman of Northern Iron Limited and Non-Executive Deputy Chairman of Automotive Holdings Group Limited and Thinksmart Limited.

Mr Griffiths holds an Honours Degree in Economics and an honorary Doctor of Economics from The University of Western Australia, a Masters Degree in Economics from Australian National University and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He was formerly Pro-Chancellor of The University of Western Australia.

Professor Alan Robson AM, BAgrSc Melb, PhD W.Aust, FTSE, FACE, FACEL, FAIAS
Professor Robson is Vice-Chancellor of The University of Western Australia where he is also the Hackett Professor of Agriculture. He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Universities Australia; Chair of Australia's Group of Eight universities; a member of the Western Australian Science Council and the CSIRO Board. In 1987 Professor Robson was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. Subsequently he was awarded the Australian Medal of Agriculture Science and elected as a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science. In 2003 Professor Robson was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

Professor Margaret Seares AO, PhD (UWA); MA (UWA), FAICD
Margaret Seares holds a PhD from UWA in Music, her field of specialty being the keyboard music of the 18th century. From 1991-1995 she was Head of the School of Music, and Deputy Chair of the Academic Board at UWA.

In 1995 she accepted a two-year secondment to the position of CEO with the West Australian Department for the Arts (now the Department of Culture and the Arts). And in 1997 she was appointed to a 4-year term as Chair of the Australia Council.

She has been a member of a wide range of Boards and Councils in the government, not-for-profit, and arts sectors and is currently a board member of the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, a Councillor with the WA Chamber of Commerce & Industry and with Scotch College WA, a member of the Australian Research Council's advisory council, and a member of the board of the Council for the Humanities Arts & Social Sciences.

In 2003 Professor Seares was awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of her work for the arts and education.

Mr Ryan Stokes
Born in Perth Western Australia, Ryan completed his university education at Curtin University of Technology.

Ryan is CEO of Australian Capital Equity Ltd (ACE), a privately owned company holding a majority interest in Seven Group Holdings (SGH), a leading operating and investment company listed on the ASX. SGH holds a 48% interest in the Seven Media Group (SMG) and owns WesTrac Pty Ltd, the Caterpillar dealer for Western Australia, New South Wales and North East China. SMG is one of Australia's largest diversified media companies comprising the Seven Network, Pacific Magazines, and Yahoo!7, a joint venture with Yahoo Inc.

SGH also holds a significant interest in West Australian Newspaper Holdings (WAN), Consolidated Media Holdings (CMJ) and owns vividwireless.

Ryan is Executive Director of SGH, a Director of SMG, CMJ, an alternate director for WAN and Chairman of vividwireless.

Mr Gene Tilbrook
Gene is a company director with a background in corporate strategy, investment and finance; as well as particular interests in the arts and education. He is a member of the boards of Fletcher Building, GPT Group and Transpacific Industries (each ASX-listed); NBN Co, the Australian Government owned broadband group; and Queensland-based railroad, QR.

He was an executive director of Wesfarmers from 2002 to 2009, having spent 23 years with the group, with responsibilities across acquisitions, investments, strategy and finance.

He is a councillor of Curtin University and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, WA; and a member of the boards of the Bell Shakespeare Company, the Committee for Perth and the St George's College Foundation.